The meaning of gems: the gemstone that suits you

The gemstone that suits you – do you know which gemstone suits you best? Maybe you’d like to know what kind of gemstone is ideal for your engagement ring, wedding ring, or as a birthstone? We did the research for you!

Gemstones and their meaning

Gemstones are more than just pretty to look at. You can wear them as a pendant on a chain, in a ring, and of course you can also place gemstones in your home. Of course, there are many different gemstones and minerals, each of which is said to have its own unique healing powers. In this article, we will tell you everything you need to know about the best-known gemstones.

Rose Quartz

The rose quartz comes, as the name suggests, from the quartz family. The colour of the rose quartz can vary from light pink to pink or even rose red. This beautiful stone can be very light pink, almost translucent, pink or just very dark pink. A rose quartz gemstone usually has cracks and is often cloudy. The rose quartz has an energy that is very soft and loving. It is therefore no surprise that the rose quartz is the stone that represents unconditional love. The rose quartz represents the heart chakra.

Because this stone represents the heart chakra, this stone is perfect as a pendant on a chain. Wear this stone with your heart and the stone opens your heart so you are able to give and receive more love. This applies not only to love from outside. Also with self-love, this stone plays a major role. The rose quartz teaches you to love yourself without egocentric feelings. The rose quartz also helps you if you have to learn to love yourself again after traumatic events.

This stone has not only a positive effect mentally, but also physically the stone does its job. The rose quartz has a de-stressing effect on both your body and your state of mind (ideal to wear if you have a lot of PMS). It is said of this stone to stimulate fertility and it would support sexual problems.

The stone stimulates love, creativity, helpfulness and empathy.

The constellations that best fit the rose quartz are Taurus and Cancer.


This is also a stone from the quartz family. The stone can vary from light purple to dark purple. This stone has a protective, purifying and relaxing effect. The stone gives you inner peace and brings harmony to your life.

The amethyst represents the crown chakra and the third eye chakra. The stone has a healing effect on these chakras. The stone helps you concentrate and gives all meditation forms and spiritual exercises more depth.

The stone gives you clarity and especially self-insight. The stone gives you insight into choices and behaviour of yourself. The stone can help you recognise bad patterns and/or addictions, the stone also supports you in addressing and changing these bad patterns and/or addictions.

The amethyst seems to have a positive effect on sleeping problems, migraines and overthinking.

The amethyst fits best with the constellations Pisces and Aquarius.


The stone Jade is emerald green, light green, yellowish, brownish and can even have a purple colour. This stone also works on the heart chakra and promotes love, care and tolerance. The stone works as a positive stimulant when coming up with ideas and to realise these ideas in practice.

Jade encourages self-actualisation and self-reliance, and supports the release of negative emotions and irritations. The Jadestone teaches you to listen to your body and promotes positive energy. The stone gives you calmness and rest when a situation is stressful and chaotic.

Physically, Jade is said to stimulate fertilisation, reduce high blood pressure and can reduce heart problems.

Jade fits best with the constellations Pisces and Libra.


This gemstone is very precious. The sapphire can have different colours, but the blue sapphire is the most popular and most precious.

The sapphire is known to protect against psychic attacks and when people want to mentally dominate you. The sapphire gives mental peace and makes the mind clear. When wearing Sapphire, fears and phobias are reduced and it gives you patience.

The sapphire is said to have a strong and healing effect on the nerves, lowers blood pressure (for such things, just trust a doctor, no stone can change your health) and reduces various kinds of pain.

Sapphire also has a calming effect on your skin, hair and mucous membranes. Wearing Sapphire can reduce skin rashes, dandruff and warts. This stone also has a positive effect with sleeping problems.

The sapphire fits best with the constellations Taurus, Virgo, Libra and Pisces.


This gemstone is transparent with a bright green hue and is the sister of the Aquamarine stone. The emerald is bright green, grass green or emerald green and enjoys the status of a royal stone.

The emerald is a special stone, and wearing this stone has a positive effect on all the chakras. However, the emerald works best on your heart chakra and your forehead chakra. The emerald helps to open your heart chakra and supports you in living from unconditional love.

The emerald stimulates inner growth and the stone helps you to live in harmony with yourself as well as with your environment.

The emerald will help you to look at yourself in an unfiltered way, to see patterns and to break through them. The emerald will give you a clear head and will increase your concentration. The stone represents the truth and self-discipline.

Physically, the emerald has a restorative effect on your skin, stimulates your blood circulation and could strengthen your memory.

The emerald fits best with the constellations Cancer, Virgo and Aquarius.


This stone comes from the corundum family. The stone becomes red because there is a trace of chrome in the stone. The colour of a Ruby varies from pink to dark red, but the stone always has a red tint. Sometimes a Ruby is so dark red that the stone appears black. The stone represents the blood of the earth.

The Ruby is a good match for all chakras, but the Ruby fits best with the root chakra, sacral chakra and solar plexus chakra.

The Ruby makes you purposeful and strong-willed, stimulates your focus and helps you take more initiative. Ruby strengthens your masculine side.

The Ruby would tackle your immune system and reduce severe fatigue. The stone works positively with gout complaints and would increase libido.

The Ruby fits best with the constellations Leo, Scorpio, Cancer and Aries.

So, now that you know more about what these gemstones stand for, which one would you choose for your wedding ring or engagement ring? Is it easier to choose your ideal gemstone or not? Nowadays, it’s also very hip to work with different stones in your ring, so go ahead and do it!

Related Articles

Stay Connected